Simple Crochet Idea to Accesorise Plain Shirt

I got couple of  Plain V-Neck tees from NewYork and Company for around $5.00 , but they have very deep V-Neck. I wanted to give some life to this plain tee and also shorten the depth of the V-neck. I started with a Purple and I will have more in coming posts. I had some Purple color yarn left over from some of my other projects. So I have decided to Crochet something for the tee. 

Things you need : Plain tee, some yarn and crochet hook, a needle and thread for stitching the crochet piece to the tee,  off course little patience and time.

Step-1  : Select your tee and yarn, either you can do a contrast colors or use same yarn color as the tee, like I did. Here is my plain tee

DSCN1986.

Step-2 : This is the important part where you crochet. This is how mine looks.

DSCN1990

For this Measure the length of the tee color  and do a chain stitch. Then double crochet into each chain for one row. Continue with another row of double crochet till you reach your desired width of the piece. The width of the piece depends on the length of the neckline you want to cover. At the end I made some scallop kind design, this is optional. If you wish to do this, then chain 5 stitches and leave 5 chain stitches  and double crochet into sixth stitch. I am not expert in crocheting , but I just want to give an  idea on how to accessorize any tops dresses with crochet.

Step -3: Once you get your finished decorative piece, take a needle and thread and you have to hand stitch it to the tee. Here is how it looks,

DSCN2440 

You can decorate it further with beads / crystals in the middle. But I want it simple so that I can pair it with cardigan to work, with a simple dainty necklace.

Hope you have fun doing this and giving something to your regular boring t-shirt or dress. I am working currently on a infinity scarf , that might be my next DIY posts

XoXo
D

Leave a comment